WHY WATER

844 MILLION PEOPLE

IN THE WORLD LIVE WITHOUT ACCESS TO CLEAN WATER

Water is a fundamental human need and a driver for sustainable growth, yet water scarcity affects more than 40% of the global population and is projected to rise. While 2.6 billion people have gained access to improved drinking water sources since 1990, yet 844 million people are still struggling with water sources.

Despite there being sufficient fresh water on our planet, millions of people who reside in tough and dry-land conditions are forced to live without it. The majority of those people live in isolated rural areas and spend hours walking to collect and transport water for their families every day. To make matters worse, that water is often unclean and contaminated, leaving people sick with waterborne diseases such as diarrhoea, cholera and typhoid.

Not only does walking long distances while carrying 20 litres of water cause severe health issues, but it also keeps children out of school and wastes time that families could be using to earn an income. By 2050, at least one in four people is likely to live in a country affected by chronic or recurring shortages of fresh water.

Millions of vulnerable families around the world do not drink, cook, or bathe with clean water — a basic natural resource that we too often take for granted.

why-water1

Facts

Statistics can look stark. But we believe that we can challenge those odds thanks to our donors and implementing partners. With their help, we have already served millions of people with access to clean and safe water in some of the driest and toughest places in the world.

stats-1
31%

31% of schools don’t have clean water.

(UNICEF, Advancing WASH in Schools Monitoring, 2015)

stats2
2.3B

2.3 billion people don’t have a decent toilet.

(WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP) Report 2017)

stats3
2025

By 2025, half of the world’s population will be living in water-stressed areas.

stats4
1

Every minute a newborn dies from infection caused by lack of safe water and an unclean environment.

(WHO, 2015)

CLEAN WATER
CHANGES
EVERYTHING

TOGETHER, WE CAN MAKE WATER AVAILABLE TO ALL.

why-water-meta1
+1000
SOLUTIONS

Working with our partners, we have implemented more than 1000 solutions in 34 countries.

Read more

why-water-meta2
9 M

Since 2015, we have served more than 9 million people with clean and safe water.

Read more

why-water-meta3
R&D

We are identifying innovative and sustainable water solutions through research & development to end the water crisis.

Read more

WE CAN’T STOP THERE, WE ARE ON A MISSION TO END THE WATER CRISIS
With your help, we can reach more and transform the lives of millions worldwide

why-water1-footer

لماذا المياه

844 مليون شخص

حول العالم دون الوصول إلى مياه نظيفة

تعد المياه حاجة إنسانيّة أساسيّة، وعاملاً رئيسياً لدفع عملية النمو المستدام ، ومع ذلك فإن ندرة المياه تؤثّر على أكثر من 40% من سكّان العالم، ومن المتوقّع أن تستمر النسبة في الارتفاع. وفي حين أنه تمكن 2,6 مليار شخص من الحصول على فرص أفضل للوصول إلى مصادر مياه الشرب منذ عام 1990، إلا أنّه لا يزال هناك 844 مليون شخص يعانون من نقص مصادر المياه حتى الآن.

وعلى الرّغم من وجود مياه عذبة كافية على كوكبنا، إلا أن ملايين من الناس الذين يعيشون في ظروف حياة قاسية، وأراض قاحلة يجبرون على العيش من دونها. ويعيش غالبية هؤلاء الناس في مناطق ريفية معزولة، ويمضون ساعات من المشي كل يوم لجمع المياه، ونقلها لعائلاتهم. ومما زاد الأمر سوءاً، أن المياه غالباً ما تكون غير نظيفة، وملوّثة، مما يؤدي إلى انتشار الأمراض المنقولة عن طريق المياه الملوثة، على سبيل المثال: الإسهال، والكوليرا، والتيفوئيد.

يتسبب حمل 20 لتراً من المياه لمسافات طويلة في أضرار عدة لا تقتصر على المشاكل الصحية الخطيرة فحسب ، ولكنه يمنع الأطفال من الذهاب إلى المدارس ويضيّع وقت الأسر الذي قد يستغلونه في كسب قوت يومهم . وبحلول عام 2050، فمن المتوقع أن يعيش شخص واحد من أصل أربعة أشخاص في بلد متضرر من نقص المياه العذبة المزمن، أو المتكرر.

تتمثل معاناة ملايين الأسر الضعيفة حول العالم في عدم حصولها على مياه نظيفة للشرب أو الطهو أو الاستحمام – والتي تعد مورداً طبيعياً أساسياً، وغالباً ما نعتبر الحصول عليها أمراً بديهياً.

حقائق

قد تبدو الإحصائيات صادمة. ولكننا نؤمن أننا نستطيع تجدي هذه الصعوبات  بفضل متبرعينا، وشركائنا المنفذين. وبمساعدتهم، استطعنا مساعدة ملايين الأشخاص في الحصول على مياه شرب نظيفة وآمنة في أكثر المناطق جفافاً وقسوة حول العالم.


31%

31٪ من المدارس ليس تتوفر بها مياه نظيفة.

اليونيسف، تعزيز توفير المياه، والصرف الصحي في الإشراف على المدارس، 2015

2.3B

2.3مليار شخص ليس لديهم دورات مياه لائقة.

(تقرير عام 2017 لبرنامج الرصد المشترك بين منظمة الصحة العالمية، واليونيسف.)


2025

بحلول عام 2025، سيعيش نصف سكان العالم في مناطق تعاني من شح المياه.

1

في كل دقيقة، يموت طفل رضيع بسبب العدوى الناجمة عن نقص وجود المياه النقية، والبيئة النظيفة.

(منظمة الصحة العالمية، 2015)

المياه النظيفة
تُغير كل شيء

معاً، يمكننا توفير المياه للجميع

+1000
مشروع

من خلال التعاون مع شركائنا، نفذنا أكثر من 1000 مشروع في 34 دولة.


اقرأ المزيد

9 ملاين شخص
منذ عام 2015، نجحنا في توفير المياه النظيفة والنقية لأكثر من 9 ملايين شخص.

اقرأ المزيد

البحث و التطوير
نعمل على إيجاد حلول مبتكرة ومستدامة للمياه من خلال جهود البحث والتطوير للقضاء على أزمة المياه.

اقرأ المزيد

بالرغم من ذلك فإننا لن نتوقف عند هذا الحد. فأمامنا طريق طويل لوضع حد لأزمة المياه
فعندما نتكاتف معاً، يمكننا إحداث الفرق في حياة الملايين حول العالم.

ساهم بتبرعك