About us

who we are

Who we are

Established in 2015, the UAE Water Aid Foundation, Suqia UAE, an entity under the umbrella of the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives foundation, is a non-profit organisation that provides humanitarian aid around the world and helps communities that suffer from water scarcity by providing them with potable water. After all, clean and accessible water for all is an essential part of the world we want to live in. Until today, we have positively influenced the lives of over 9 million people in 34 countries.

Our goal is not limited to the provision of potable water to those in need. We also work to identify how innovative and sustainable technologies can be part of the solution to the global water crisis. We understand that the scale of the water crisis demands different approaches that extend beyond giving water. This is why His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, launched a USD1 million global award to find sustainable solutions to water scarcity. Suqia supervises the ‘Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Water Award’ that encourages leading corporations, research centres, institutions and innovators from across the world to compete in finding sustainable and innovative solar-energy solutions to the problem of water scarcity.


Our Core

Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives Foundation

In October 2015, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, established the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives foundation (MBRGI), an umbrella foundation consolidating 30 humanitarian programmes, organisations and awards that His Highness has previously sponsored and launched. MBRGI has four primary goals: combating poverty and disease, spreading knowledge, empowering communities and entrepreneurship and innovation for the future.

The foundation’s combined initiatives focus on 130 million people in 116 countries. At Suqia UAE, we are taking the lead in research and development of water shortage solutions to combat poverty and disease in the region.


our core
our foundation

Our Foundation

From an initiative to a foundation

In 2014, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai launched the Suqia initiative to provide clean water to five million people worldwide. The initiative, in cooperation with the Emirates Red Crescent Authority, achieved remarkable success and exceeded its targets by raising enough funds to provide clean drinking water to over 7 million people around the world.

Following the successful initiative outcomes, His Highness established the UAE Water Aid Foundation, Suqia UAE as a non-profit organisation by law in March 2015. Today, Suqia UAE, falls under the umbrella of the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives foundation, and provides humanitarian aid around the world and helps communities that suffer from water scarcity by providing them with potable water.

Vision

Provide sustainable pure water through innovative solutions.

Mission

Support happiness for poor and disaster-stricken communities by fostering and investing in innovative and sustainable solar powered pure water solutions through effective partnerships in a sustainable and efficient platform aligned with best international practices.

Values

  • Transparency
  • Sustainability
  • Collaboration
  • Happines
  • Accountability
  • Innovation and creativity
  • Neutrality
chairman message

CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE

The values of giving and philanthropy have always been the main principles of the UAE which lends its helping hand worldwide to alleviate human suffering, regardless of gender, race, or religion.

Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer
Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Read More

Transforming Global Goals to Results

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) define the global sustainable development priorities and aspirations for 2030, and present a unique opportunity to address the world’s biggest sustainable development challenges. The UAE has taken a global role in international efforts to combat humanitarian challenges, among which is access to clean drinking water. At Suqia, we believe that water is a basic human right and a driver for sustainable growth and development. We are concentrating our efforts to achieve SDG 6, “Ensure access to water and sanitation for all”, a goal that relies heavily on joint action and collaboration by all sectors.

At Suqia, we believe that water is a basic human right and a driver for sustainable growth and development. We are concentrating our efforts to achieve SDG 6, “Ensure access to water and sanitation for all”, a goal that relies heavily on joint action and collaboration by all sectors. Until today, we have positively influenced the lives of over 9 million people in 34 countries by providing them with access to clean water with the help of our implementing partners. We are committed to reach out and aiding underprivileged communities that suffer from access to clean water remains strong, and SDG 6 has become a valuable guide on how best to achieve that commitment.



clean water

OUR PARTNERS

We are happy to work with partners who share our vision and passion to serve those most vulnerable. Through our partnerships, we are able to expand our reach and work to strengthen the UAE’s humanitarian efforts.

Our strategic and implementing partners are UAE-based entities that work with a global network of professionals and organisations from the field. Together with our partners, we are providing communities with access to safe and clean water by implementing sustainable water projects and identifying innovative sustainable solutions to water scarcity. 

Get to know our partners:


dewa

Suqia is annexed to Dubai Electricity and Water Authority, DEWA, by law number 3, which was issued by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum in 2015.

Read More

redcross

In 2014, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai launched the Suqia initiative to provide clean water to five million people worldwide.

Read More

smuhlogo

In 2015, Suqia partnered with the Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Humanitarian and Charity Est., MBRHC, a sister entity under the umbrella of the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives, with the purpose of initiating international water projects.

Read More

Our Board

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minster of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, issued a law establishing the UAE Water Aid Foundation as a non-profit organisation, and a decree forming its Board of Trustees. The Board is chaired by the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Dubai Electricity & Water Authority (DEWA), His Excellency Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, with the membership of one representative each from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, the UAE Red Crescent Authority, UAE University, Khalifa University and two representatives from DEWA. Mr. Mohammed Abdulkareem Alshamsi is appointed as the Acting Executive Director of the UAE Water Aid Foundation.

Saeed-Mohammed-Al-Tayer
H.E. Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer

Managing Director & CEO of DEWA

Chairman of the Board

Saeed-Mohammed-Al-Tayer
H.E. Fahad Abdulrahman bin Sultan

Deputy Secretary General for International Development and Cooperation Affairs  at UAE Red Crescent, Member

Saeed-Mohammed-Al-Tayer
H.E. Sultan Mohammed Al Shamsi
Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation for International Development Affairs, Member
Ahmed
H.E. Dr. Ahmed Ali Murad

Dean of College of Sciences of United Arab Emirates University, Member

Saeed-Mohammed-Al-Tayer
H.E. Dr. Arif Sultan Al Hammadi
Executive Vice President of Khalifa University, Member
Waleed
Eng. Waleed Ali Salman

Executive Vice President - Business Development & Excellence at DEWA, Member  

Saeed-Mohammed-Al-Tayer
Eng. Nasser Mohammed Lootah
Executive Vice President – Generation (Power & Water) at DEWA, Member  
Saeed-Mohammed-Al-Tayer
Mohammed Abdulkareem Alshamsi

Chief Climate change & Sustainability Officer at DEWA, Acting Executive Director of the UAE Water Aid Foundation.

about bottom
The water crisis is affecting millions around the world. Make a difference.

من نحن

about-1

من نحن

مؤسسة سقيا الإمارات، عضو في مؤسسة "مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية"، وهي مؤسسة غير ربحية وتعمل بصورة رئيسية في بحث وتنمية حلول لمشاكل شح المياه و توفير المياه الصالحة للشرب لتساعد المجتمعات التي تعاني من نقص  وتلوث المياه. ولقد تمكنا حتى اليوم من التأثير إيجابياً على حياة أكثر من 9 ملايين شخص في أكثر من 34 دولة.

أهدافنا في "سقيا الامارات" لا تقتصر على تأمين المياه الصالحة للشرب لأولئك المحتاجين إليها وحسب، بل نعمل على دمج التقنيات المبتكرة، والمستدامة  لتكون جزءً من حل أزمة المياه العالمية. وإننا ندرك أن حجم أزمة المياه يتطلب جهداً أكبر من مجرد توفير المياه و تماشياً مع هدف دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في أن تصبح ذات اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة، وذو تركيز قوي على التكنولوجيا، والبحث، والتطوير، والابتكار، أطلقَ صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة، رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رعاه الله، جائزة عالمية بقيمة مليون دولار أمريكي لإيجاد حلول مستدامة لمشكلة شح المياه. تشرف سقيا الإمارات على جائزة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية للمياه والتي تشجع الشركات الرائدة، ومراكز الأبحاث، والمؤسسات، والمبتكرين من جميع أنحاء العالم على التنافس في إيجاد حلول الطاقة الشمسية المستدامة، والمبتكرة لمعالجة مشكلة شح المياه.


غايتنا

مؤسسة مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية

في أكتوبر 2015، أسسَ صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة، ورئيس مجلس الوزراء، وحاكم دبي، مؤسسة مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية، وهي مظلة لأكثر من ثلاثين برنامجاً إنسانياً، ومنظمات، وجوائز، والتي قام بتمويلها، وافتتاحها سموه سابقاً. ولدى مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية أربعة أهداف: مكافحة الفقر والأمراض، ونشر المعرفة، وتمكين المجتمعات، وريادة الأعمال، والابتكار للمستقبل.

وتركز المبادرات المشتركة للمؤسسة على 130 مليون شخص، في 116 دولة. حيث تأخذ سقيا الإمارات زمام المبادرة في الأبحاث التي تعمل على إيجاد حلول لشح المياه في المنطقة.


our-core
our-foundation

من مبادرة إلى مؤسسة رائدة

في عام 2014، أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة، ورئيس مجلس الوزراء، حاكم دبي رعاه الله مبادرة سقيّا لتوفير المياه النظيفة لخمسة ملايين شخص حول العالم. وقد حققت المبادرة، وبالتعاون مع هيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي، نجاحاً باهراً، وتجاوزت أهدافها المنشودة، من خلال جمع ما يكفي من التبرعات  لتوفير مياه الشرب النظيفة لأكثر من 7 ملايين شخص حول العالم.

بعد النتائج الباهرة للمبادرة، أصدر صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة، ورئيس مجلس الوزراء، وحاكم دبي، قانوناً في مارس 2015، بإنشاء مؤسسة سقيا كمنظمة غير ربحية. واليوم، أصبحت مؤسسة سقيا الإمارات كياناً تحت مظلة  مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية، تساعد المجتمعات التي تعاني من شح المياه من خلال تزويدهم بالمياه النظيفة حول العالم.


رؤيتنا

تأمين مياه نقية، ومستدامة من خلال حلول مبتكرة.

رسالتنا

تقديم الدعم لإسعاد للمجتمعات الفقيرة، والمنكوبة بالكوارث من خلال الدعم المادي، والاستثمار في حلول المياه النقية، والتي تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية المبتكرة، والمستدامة. كل ذلك من خلال الشراكة الفعالة في منصة مستدامة، وبكفاءة تتماشى مع أفضل الممارسات الدولية.

قيمنا

  • الشفافية
  • المسؤولية
  • الاستدامة
  • الابتكار، والإبداع
  • التعاون
  • الحيادية
  • السعادة

رسالة رئيس مجلس الأمناء

لطالما كانت قيم العطاء وعمل الخير مبادئ رئيسية تنطلق منها رسالة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث تمتد أيادي الدولة البيضاء إلى جميع بقاع الأرض تخفف معاناة الإنسان أينما كان بصرف النظر عن جنسه أو عرقه أو دينه، التزاماً بالقيم النبيلة التي تنبع من مبادئ الدين الإسلامي الحنيف والتقاليد العربية الأصيلة.

معالي/ سعيد محمد الطاير

رئيس مجلس الأمناء


اقرأ المزيد

تحويل الأهداف العالمية إلى نتائج

تحدد أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة أولويات وتطلعات التنمية المستدامة العالمية لعام 2030 وتقدم فرصة فريدة لمعالجة أكبر تحديات التنمية المستدامة في العالم. كما تلعب دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة دوراً عالمياً في الجهود الدولية للتغلب على  التحديات الإنسانية، ومن هذه الأهداف، سهولة الوصول إلى المياه النظيفة الصالحة للشرب. حيث أننا في مؤسسة سقيا الامارات نؤمن بأن المياه تعد حقاً إنسانياً أساسياً، ومحركاً للنمو، والتنمية المستدامة. وتركز جهودنا لتحقيق هدف التنمية المستدامة رقم 6، "ضمان وصول الجميع للمياه، والصرف الصحي"، وهو هدف يعتمد بشكل كبير على العمل المشترك، والتعاون من قبل جميع القطاعات.

حتى اليوم، أثرت سقيا الامارات بشكل إيجابي على حياة أكثر من 9 ملايين شخص، في 34 دولة، من خلال توفير المياه النظيفة لهم، بمساعدة شركائنا المنفذين. يبقى التزامنا في سقيا الامارات قوياً بمساعدة المجتمعات المنكوبة ، التي تعاني من صعوبة الوصول إلى المياه النظيفة.


شركاؤنا

نسعد بالعمل مع شركاء تجمعنا بهم رؤيتنا وشغفنا لخدمة من هم بأمس الحاجة للمساعدة. فشراكاتنا تمنحنا الفرصة لتوسيع نطاق عملنا وتعزيز جهودنا نحو دعم أهداف دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة للمساعدات الإنسانية.

شركاؤنا الاستراتيجيون يمثلون جهات محلية تعمل مع خبراء ومؤسسات عالمية ذات خبرة في العمل الميداني على تنفيذ وتطوير مشاريعنا ومبادراتنا. بالتعاون مع شركائنا، نسعى لتوفير المياه النظيفة والنقية للمجتمعات المحتاجة من خلال تنفيذ مشاريع مياه مستدامة وإيجاد حلول مبتكرة ومستدامة لمشكلة شح المياه.

تعرف على شركائنا:


dewa

تم ضم "مؤسسة سُقيا الإمارات" إلى هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، بموجب القانون رقم 3، الذي أصدره صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم في عام 2015


اقرأ المزيد

أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رعاه الله، في عام 2014 مبادرة سقيا الإمارات بهدف توفير المياه الصالحة للشرب لخمس ملايين شخص حول العالم.


اقرأ المزيد

في عام 2015، مؤسسة سقيا الإمارات تحت مظلة مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالميّة وقعت مذكرة تفاهم مع مؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للأعمال الخيرية والإنسانيّة

اقرأ المزيد

مجلس الأمناء

أصدر صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة، رئيس مجلس الوزراء، حاكم دبي، قانوناً بإنشاء مؤسسة سقيا الإمارات كمنظمة غير ربحية، ومرسوماً بتشكيل مجلس أمنائها. ويترأس المجلس سعادة سعيد محمد الطاير العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي،  و عضوية ممثل لكل من وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي، وهيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي، وجامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وجامعة خليفة، وممثلين اثنين من هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي. كما تم تعيين محمد عبد الكريم الشامسي، مديراً تنفيذياً بالوكالة لمؤسسة سقيا الإمارات.


معالي/ سعيد محمد الطاير

العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي - رئيس مجلس الأمناء

سعادة فهد عبدالرحمن بن سلطان
نائب الأمين العام لقطاع التنمية والتعاون الدولي - هيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي، عضو
سعادة سلطان محمد الشامسي

مساعد الوزير لشؤون التنمية الدولية -  وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي، عضو

سعادة الدكتور أحمد علي مراد
عميد كلية العلوم - جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، عضو
سعادة الدكتور عارف سلطان الحمادي
مدير الجامعة ونائب الرئيس التنفيذي بالوكالة - جامعة خليفة، عضو
المهندس وليد علي سلمان

النائب التفيذي للرئيس - تطوير الاعمال والتمييز في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، عضو


المهندس ناصر محمد بن لوتاه

النائب التنفيذي للرئيس - الانتاج (الطاقة والمياه) في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، عضو

السيد محمد عبدالكريم الشامسي

رئيس - الاستدامة وتغير المناخ في هيئة كهرباء و مياه دبي، مدير تنفيذي بالوكالة لمؤسسة سقيا الإمارات

ما هي مؤسسة سقيا الإمارات
يعاني الملايين حول العالم من أزمة شح وتلوث المياه.
اصنع فرقاً.