The award aims to find and support innovative solutions to water shortage and scarcity to worldwide. The award is comprised of three categories: Innovative Projects Award, Innovative Research & Development Award, and Innovative Youth Award.

Description

The project submitted by the applicant must present an innovative technological solution to address water scarcity exclusively using solar energy to produce safe drinking water in line with World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines. The project presented must be a practical, proven solution with measurable results in operation for at least 3 months prior to the date of submission of the application.

Intended Applicants

Individuals under the age of 40

Description

The project submitted by the applicant must be a practical, proven solution with measurable results in operation for at least 12 months prior to the date of submission of the application. The project must clearly demonstrate the use of solar energy to produce safe drinking water in line with World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines, along with production capacity, technical limitations, disinfection systems, operation and maintenance requirements, and any innovative solution to improve efficiency and cost effectiveness.

Intended Applicants

Governmental, semi-governmental, private and non-governmental organizations.

  • Small Projects: The project must have a capital expenditure (CAPEX) of USD 10 million or below.
  • Large Projects: The project must have a capital expenditure (CAPEX) over USD 10 million. 

Description

The project submitted by the applicant must demonstrate workability or measurable results by means of a prototype or pilot in operation for at least 6 months prior to the date of submission of the application. The project must be developed and executed in-house with the aim of extracting safe drinking water from natural sources in line with World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines, providing necessary water treatment and purifying the product water from possible anthropologic and natural pollutants, while relying exclusively on solar energy. The project should preferably be a solution that can easily be installed, operated and maintained without the need for specialised manpower and equipment in different and harsh ambient conditions using low cost and maintenance friendly technology.

Intended Applicants

Individuals or teams from non-profit, educational and academic institutions, and research centers that are independent or annexed to governmental or semi-governmental organizations.

  • National Institutions: The project must be submitted by or on behalf of educational or non-profit institutions and research centers within the UAE.
  • International Institutions: The project must be submitted by or on behalf of educational or non-profit institutions and research centers outside the UAE.

تهدف الجائزة إلى إيجاد ودعم الحلول المبتكرة لشح المياه وندرتها حول العالم. تتألف الجائزة من ثلاث فئات: جائزة المشاريع المبتكرة، جائزة الابتكار في البحث والتطوير وجائزة الابتكارات الشابة.

الوصف

يجب على المشروع الذي يتم تقديمه أن يمثل حل تقني مبتكر لمعالجة قضية شحالمياه، وذلك بالاعتماد على الطاقة الشمسية فقط لإنتاج مياه صالحة للشرب مطابقة لمعايير منظمة الصحة العالمية. ويجب أن يكون المشروع الذي يتم تقديمه مشروعاً عملياً، أثبت كفاءته؟ كأحد الحلول الفعالة بنتائج قابلة للقياس، وأن يكون المشروع قيد التشغيل لمدة  3 شهور على الأقل قبل تاريخ تقديم الطلب.

الجهة المستهدفة

على ألا يتجاوز مقدم الطلب 40 عاماً

الوصف

يجب أن يكون المشروع الذي يتم تقديمه مشروعاً عملياً، أثبت كفاءته كأحد الحلول الفعالة بنتائج قابلة للقياس، وأن يكون المشروع قيد التشغيل لمدة 12 شهراً على الأقل قبل تاريخ تقديم الطلب. ويجب أن يثبت المشروع اعتماده على الطاقة الشمسية لإنتاج مياه صالحة للشرب مطابقة لمعايير منظمة الصحة العالمية، إضافة إلى توضيح السعة الإنتاجية، والقيود الفنية، وأنظمة التطهير، ومتطلبات التشغيل والصيانة، وأي حلول مبتكرة لتحسين الكفاءة والفعالية من حيث التكلفة.

الجهة المستهدفة

المؤسسات الحكومية وشبه الحكومية والخاصة والمنظمات الغير حكومية (NGOs) 

- المشاريع الصغيرة: يجب ألا تتعدى النفقات الرأسمالية للمشروع 10 ملايين دولار أمريكي

- المشاريع الكبيرة: يجب أن تكون النفقات الرأسمالية للمشروع أكثر من 10 ملايين دولار أمريكي

الوصف

يجب على مقدم المشروع إثبات فعاليته أو تقديم نتائج قابلة للقياس عن طريق نموذج أولي أو تجريبي قيد التشغيل لمدة 6 شهور على الأقل قبل تاريخ التقديم للجائزة. ويجب أن يكون المشروع قد تم تطويره وتنفيذه دون الاستعانة بطرف ثالث بهدف استخراج مياه صالحة للشرب وآمنة من مصادر طبيعية طبقاً لمعايير منظمة الصحة العالمية، وأن يوفر المعالجة اللازمة للمياه وتنقيتها من الملوثات البشرية والطبيعية المحتملة، بالاعتماد على الطاقة الشمسية فقط. ويفضل أن يكون المشروع حل يمكن تركيبه وتشغيله وصيانته بسهولة دون الحاجة لمختصين أو معدات خاصة، وفي بيئات وظروف متعددة وقاسية، بالاعتماد على تقنيات منخفضة التكلفة يمكن صيانتها بسهولة.

الجهة المستهدفة

الافراد او الفرق في المؤسسات الاكاديمية والتعليمية وغير الربحية ومراكز الأبحاث المستقلة أو الملحقة للمؤسسات الحكومية وشبه الحكومية.

- يجب أن يتم تقديم المشروع من قبل أو بالنيابة عن مؤسسات تعليمية أو غير ربحية أو مراكز أبحاث في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

- يجب أن يتم تقديم المشروع  من قبل بواسطة أو بالنيابة عن مؤسسات وطنية تعليمية أو غير ربحية أو مراكز أبحاث من خارج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة